Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

Dysfunction and I Are No Longer Friends

Myla Grier
2 min readJul 31, 2023

--

Dysfunction has run its course as my norm.

When even the slightest dysfunction presents itself in my life, I cringe, running to my therapist for a dose of talk, tools or reminders of what to do. And I pray the entire time, asking myself, “Myla, when did you stop paying attention to old habits, people, etc.?”

My ear gates and my eye gates are everything. My behaviors tell on me, causing me to show out based upon what I allowed in…

Now that dysfunction and I are divorced, if a person wishes to share their present dis-ease, I clip conversations. No longer willing to be an emotional dumping ground. Please: Take it to Jesus. Spread it out before Him. AND for God’s sake, DO SOMETHING DIFFERENTLY.

Friendly silence I can interpret as anger, disagreement or just plain not being ready.

To do the work, takes courage.

To see the process through, takes endurance.

To see your own face in participation and sometimes leading the crazy, takes humility.

Bow down, cast pride aside. Dysfunction keeps so many of us from fulfilling our God-given purposes in what should be a beautiful life.

If satan* can keep your focus on a merry-go-round of confusion, you will defeat yourself. His job is done.

--

--